Austrian business cycle theory

Parryx

I am not native english so sorry if my english is bad. Well, as title says, what do you think about the business cycle theory of the austrian school?

This theory says that periods of low interest rate (so the Central Bank and banks are creating more credit) cause the recession periods.

PS: I'm also new to the game and it's great! 

Edited by Parryx

15 minutes ago, ForgotPants said:

Welcome to PnW! And I have no freakin clue what the business cycle theory is!

Thanks! I posted that just in case there is someone that wants to defend the austrian school because I've never known a single one that haven't run away when showing some empyrical proof hahaha

• Upvote 1

The Austrian School, like virtually every other Economic School of thought, is not all in agreement when it comes to every jot and tittle. So what exactly are you implying as to which aspect of the Austrian Economic School you find absurd?

The leading hedge fund in the world effectively operates according to it if you compare its appreciation of the short and long term debt cycles to ABC's understanding of how credit expansions and contractions lead to booms and busts: 

• Upvote 1

13 hours ago, ComradeMilton said:

K. (I put no faith in YT and don't watch random things. Thanks for effort, though.)

So if a renowned Economist posts a YT video from a university renowned for Economics, you would put "no faith" in it. You are about as sharp as a bowling ball.

Edited by Doc Martini

2 hours ago, Doc Martini said:

So if a renowned Economist posts a YT video from a university renowned for Economics, you would put "no faith" in it. You are about as sharp as a bowling ball.

Not to mention he is the 69th richest person in the world and founded started the world's largest hedge fund from his apartment. 

NODOLsmall.png.a7aa9c0a05fa266425cd7e83d8ccb3dd.png

4 hours ago, ComradeMilton said:

Surely there are reliable sources for his information, then.